Tags

, , ,

First, and this is very important, look what iWill gave me today:

LOOK AT ALL THIS CONFETTI

It is confetti because I am celebrating everything all the time now and because he is so great he gave me actual confetti instead of metaphorical confetti and also it is still in the plastic bag and yet there is confetti everywhere including on my FACE but I don’t care because CONFETTI.

He’s so great, y’all.

A few people have asked me what will happen now, post-Make It Happen. What are my words for 2013, they want to know. It’s hard, y’all. Make It Happen did so much and changed so much. There is a lot of pressure to come up with the perfect words to even maintain the same level of magic that happened in 2012. I’ve given it a lot of thought and finally, I think I figured it out. I have my words for 2013. Well, more accurately, I have my word.

Stretch.

It’s simple, which is good. Simple is maintainable. Simple is doable every day. Simple is how you change your life.

Stretch.

I learned so much last year. I was given so much and things are so completely different now. Sometimes all the change makes my head spin but mostly I just feel incredibly grateful. I know I don’t want to grow complacent, nor do I want to take anything for granted. I want to make the lessons of 2012 stick. And the best way to do that, I think, is to stretch.

I will stretch my mind. I love my new job and cannot believe I get to write for a living. I’m also lucky because I work with some of the smartest people I’ve ever met. I have the opportunity to learn from them every day. So I will stretch myself to become a better writer, a better coworker, and I will learn from the people around me.

I will stretch my body. I have learned how much I am capable of, physically, and I want to keep going. I want to push myself to go further, faster. There are so many races I want to run, so many things I want to try. I will stretch myself to start making those goals a reality.

I will stretch my friendship. I am thoroughly convinced that I would not have been able to make half of the amazing things of 2012 happen if it weren’t for my friends and the people in my life. They continue to show me kindness, grace, and love. When Kim was sick, I was constantly stunned by the way people would go out of their way to help us. Now it is my turn to give a little back.

I will stretch my hamstrings. Because they get injured a lot and stretching is good.

I will stretch my patience. As I grow older, I find myself losing patience with strangers a lot more quickly. I do not like this and want to grow to be more patient and understanding with everyone I meet.

I will stretch my budget because races are spendy and also I want to start planning for the future.

Stretch.

It’s a very simple concept, isn’t it? And I’m so excited about it, guys. I can’t wait to see where 2013 takes me. I don’t know if the lessons will be hard. I don’t know if I will laugh more than I cry. I hope so. I don’t really know how this is going to look. Maybe it will look a lot like last year, with growth and challenges and happiness. Or, maybe it will look like tonight, in which I made a ton of flatbread and ate each batch as it came out of the oven, standing over the sink, until my stomach hurt. (I will stretch my stomach.)

Whatever happens, I am very and extremely excited. It is going to be an adventure and I love those things.

Did you make words for 2013? I am so seriously curious. Please let me know what your words are so I can root for you the way you have always rooted for me.

PS: I have plenty of confetti to go around.

Stretch. It’s happening, guys.

