Last September, at the urging of a wonderful friend/mentor, I submitted a pitch to Regence, a healthcare website in the Pacific Northwest. I pitched a column about grief, loss, and cancer. Things in the writer world move fairly slowly (until you are assigned an article and then time quickens like you wouldn’t believe) but during Seattle’s January Snopocalypse, I received a phone call. The pitch had been approved and I had two weeks to write the story of my relationship with Kim.

I mentioned those weeks to you guys before, how I immersed myself in memories and essentially scrubbed my insides raw to condense our story into an 800 word piece. Many things had to be left out, obviously, but the story is still whole, still honest, true, and awful.

I don’t know what will come of this article. Maybe it will lead to something more, an opportunity to move from writing about grief to writing about the process of healing. All of that remains to be seen. My hope, though, is that my story, Kim’s story, our year together, will find its way to someone who is going through the same thing. Maybe there is a person sitting in a hospital room, next to the failing body of someone they love, playing DJ or trying to sleep on the most uncomfortable chair. Maybe this person will stumble upon this column and, just for a moment, he or she won’t feel so achingly alone. That is my request to the Universe, that this tragedy could soothe the soul of someone who is in the midst of their own cancerous hell.

Thank you for taking the time to read this labor of love, and for being with me every step of the way. You guys are amazing and I am so lucky to have each of you as a reader. And thank you, of course, to Regence, for giving me this opportunity.

Friendship, Caretaking, and Grieving: By Alida Moore

