A few weeks ago, Betty Nebraska was helping me pack my bedroom at Kim’s condo. We had a slick system — I would go through one part of the room and sort things into garbage/recycling/Goodwill piles. Anything I wanted to keep, I would leave where it was. Betty followed behind me, packing the items I was keeping into boxes, labeling and taping. In just under 4 hours, my entire life was packed into boxes. Again.

While we packed, we talked about moving. Betty counted in her head and realized she’d moved 7 or 8 times in the last ten years. I counted in my head and realized I’ve moved 16 times in ten years. Sixteen times, y’all. No wonder I’m so good at moving.
Yale and I have been in our new home for nearly 3 weeks now. I love it, lollipops. I’m so happy here. We’re nestled into our little basement home, keeping cool in the Seattle “summer,” unpacking and organizing, reorganizing, and breathing. Sometimes we have to remind ourselves to breathe. In that spirit, I taped this to Yale’s door last weekend:
Photobucket
She was very much excited about the prospect about our first Roommate Date since our big move. And on Monday, after we spent the morning working in the house, we packed a bag and hit the pavement, *walking* from our house to Hot House Spa, one of my favorite places in Seattle. We melted into the hot tub and slowly, quietly, relaxed into our breathing. It was magical.
Our tradition post-Naked Spa is sushi and Yogurtland. Y’all would be impressed with the amount of cheap, conveyer belt sushi she and I can put away. Like, we’re not playing around. It’s insane. A quick stop next door to grab our cups of delicious frozen yogurt and we were ready to walk back home in the sunshine, full and happy, relaxed and breathing.
Photobucket
Walking is maybe my favorite part of my new home. I really am only driving my car to work and back right now. For everything else, I walk. Brunches with dear friends, spontaneous walks for frozen yogurt, happy hour with the girls, or just a quick walk to grab the last bits of sunshine in the day. I throw on my sparkle shoes, my favorite sundress, grab my iPod, and dive into the streets of my new neighborhood.
Photobucket
I’m happy here, guys. The next weeks are going to be full of preparations for Burning Man, getting ready for a new work schedule, and figuring out what I want to do with school and career. And night walks. Many, many night walks.
Come along with me?
Photobucket
