Photobucket

I’m bad at drinking water. Did you know that about me? I am. It’s weird. I’m good at drinking coffee and tea. I’m kind of awesome at drinking soda. I’m have actual magical powers when it comes to vodka and tequila. But water? I just am SO bad at drinking it. I know I’m supposed to drink 8 glasses a day and sometimes I manage to do that. But mostly I drink 1 glass a day. It’s terrible.

You know what else is terrible? Here I sit, in a comfy home with flowing water at my fingertips, and I take it for granted. Yet there are so many people who don’t have such easy access to clean water, people who don’t know where their next glass is coming from.
Today is World Water Day. In honor of this day, I’ve joined with over 125 other bloggers as part of the Adventure Project’s Keep it Clean Campaign to raise money for the people of India. Our goal is to raise $10,000 in ONE day — an epic goal. If we are successful, the Prem Rawat Foundation will match our efforts. If we are successful, we could provide clean water for a year for 3,600 people.
You see, one third of all handpumps installed in the last twenty years in developing countries are now broken. Worse than that, 4,000 children die every day because they lack clean drinking water. 4,000, guys. Can you even imagine? And all because of WATER.
The Adventure Project’s envisioned solution is simple: train and employ handpump mechanics. The mechanics earn an income, which pulls them out of poverty, *and* they save lives by turning water on for thousands of people.
How can you help? It’s simple. My goal upon signing up was the have 10 dedicated blog readers (that’s you) donate $20 to this project. But I know my readers. I know we can do more. So my personal goal is to have 20 readers donate $20, raising $400 through this blog alone.
Y’all have been here throughout my silly self-indulgence in this blog. I know how kind you are, how generous you can be. I’m asking you now to join me for a worthwhile cause, to give a little bit to make a big impact for others. Let’s just see, right?
Are y’all with me? If so, click HERE (or on the button on the sidebar) and donate now. $20. That’s it. A simple click, a quick donation, and one more person will get clean water.
Imagine if we raise $10,000 in one day. Imagine if it is even easier than drinking 8 glasses of water a day. Imagine a world where no child goes without clean water.
Imagine.
(Want to know more about what we’re doing? Click here and read about The Adventure Project.
