We did a triple birthday this year. Betty Nebraska turned 30 on January 13th. Bowie turned 35 on December 22nd. And I turned 30 on January 23rd. So it made sense to combine our birthdays and have one huge celebration.

Thus was born the 3035 Party. We found a charming space in Belltown, invited 100 of our closest friends, and encouraged everyone to wear what they would wear in the year 3035. Betty Nebraska made my costume using just 3 pieces of fabric, safety pins, and a gorgeous crinoline skirt. We invented futuristic drinks (the Spacemanhattan, the Utopian, and Nutritional Supplement #30).
And we danced. Oh, how we danced.
Bowie was in charge of the playlist. He spent weeks putting together some of the greatest, most danceable mash-ups I’ve ever heard, including a couple Beastie Boys shout-outs for me.
I don’t have the words to explain how amazing the party was, so this post will be picture-heavy. (You might need to click the photo to see the whole thing.)
Please to enjoy:
The Costume (Thank you Betty!):
Photobucket
The Birthday Trifecta:
Photobucket
My Girls:
Photobucket
My Gorgeous Roommate:
Photobucket
Betty Nebraska and Bowie:
Photobucket
KD and Boz:
Photobucket
KJ and JJ:
Photobucket
Our Birthday Striptease:
Photobucket
Happiness is Dancing:
Photobucket
With Hannah and Brady:
Photobucket
The Lovely Miss D:
Photobucket
Future Laughter:
Photobucket
The Carol Brunettes (minus a few):
Photobucket
It was a fabulous party with amazing people who make me feel warm and loveful. After we danced into the early morning, ending with a rousing group sing of Mika’s Grace Kelly, we ventured onto the streets of Seattle for street dogs in the cold.
It was a perfect birthday celebration. The next day, as I tugged a bandana over my hairsprayed bedhead and picked strands of blue tinsel out of my clothes, I couldn’t stop grinning. I’m lucky, y’all. I have the most magical friends in the world. Seriously. I mean, is it any surprise that my face looked like this the entire night?
Photobucket
Best birthday ever.
