I know the blog has been quiet, guys. And I miss you and wish I had more words to share right now. Unfortunately, my life isn’t all funny vodka-induced shenanigans and hangover musings. Sometimes reality sets in.

You know what? Sometimes reality stabs you in the heart.
There was news this weekend. Cancer news. The unfunny kind. The kind of cancer news that, no matter how much I try, no matter how many times I go over and over it in my head, I cannot spin into something positive.
There was a PET scan last Thursday. And then there were results. And now we know what we’re dealing with. In October, it was Stage IV breast cancer that had traveled to her lungs and bones. Today, it is Stage IV breast cancer that has increased in her lungs and bones and traveled to her spine and, worst of all, her liver.
This is where shit gets real. Chemo started today. Radiation will start this week or next. And in 3-4 months, we’ll scan again and see if it’s helping.
(I need it to help, y’all. I need it to work miracles.)
So later, I’ll talk about chemo parties. I’ll tell stories about futile attempts to seduce radiation oncologists and doctors. And they’ll be funny. We’ll get a wig and style it up right with tinsel and feathers. We’ll make this look good.
But today? Today I’m sad. Today I’m not joking. Today my heart is a little broken. Because fucking cancer, guys. Fucking cancer.
And that’s okay, to be sad, to be heartbroken, to be scared and worried and wondering about what will happen over the next 3-4 months. Right? You guys don’t mind that it’s not always vodka and rainbows around here, right?
Fucking cancer, y’all.
