Last night I went with J to see a Simon and Garfunkel tribute group at the Triple Door, my favorite venue for live music in Seattle. It’s intimate, comfortable, and the atmosphere is nothing short of groovy. We burrowed into our booth, just a few rows back from the stage, and sipped our tea as we enjoyed a retrospective of Simon and Garfunkel’s greatest hits and best songs.

It was very nearly perfect, except for the horribly rude sorostitute who insisted upon talking loudly for the entire show. Like, for real the entire show. And who could blame her? The soft, twinkling, acoustic sound was forcing her to raise her voice so her date could hear her fascinating stories about Uggs and the Jersey Shore.
I came thisclose to throwing my Dr. Pepper Lip Smackers at her face. And it would have hurt too because it’s the size of a freaking glue stick. But I also love my extra big Dr. Pepper Lip Smackers and would have missed it.
But still. She’s lucky I was feeling so chilled out because that’s the only thing that kept me from doling out some mad justice — Bonne Bell style.
About a third of the way into the evening, Pretend Simon and Garfunkel played my favorite Real Simon and Garfunkel of all time: Flowers Never Bend (With the Rainfall). I listened to this song over and over again about 7 years ago, when I was starting to question my beliefs and the Christian faith. It kind of became a musical mantra for me and is still very special to me to this day. It was fitting especially to hear it this weekend because of my plans for Tuesday night, which I will share tomorrow.
I have kindly embedded the song right here, for your listening pleasure. You are welcome.
Hope y’all had a great weekend!
