Back when I managed the day spa, my boss was a lovely lady by the name of Donna. She recruited me to her spa when she became the director and I scurried over to work with her because she was amazing and hilarious and kind. To this day, she is one the best bosses I’ve ever had.

Working in a spa is fairly insane. Take vanity, ego, rich white ladies, and mix in trillion eccentricities and you can start to understand what we dealt with daily. Donna rolled with everything — the backstabbing, the gossip, and the craziness of the spa’s owner. She’d just smile, throw her hands in the air, and say in her gentle Southern way, “Hey man. We’re all just L-I-V-I-N’.”
After we both left the spa, Donna had plans to open her own space and wrote me into her business plan. Sadly, our lives took different paths and mine brought be to Seattle. But I’ve never forgotten Donna or her motto of L-I-V-I-N’.
It’s a good motto. Move forward, let shit roll off your back, and keep on L-I-V-I-N’. It’s what I’ve been striving to do since I moved out here. And I realized something recently. I’ve become a lot more self-nurturing since striking out on my own. Somewhere in the last three years I stopped calling myself ‘stupid’ and started calling myself ‘honey.’ It’s a much more loveful existence, I’ll tell you that.
There’s a song I love that sort of encapsulates the feeling I get when I’m driving to work. My drive takes me on the viaduct and I have the perfect view of the sound and Elliott Bay on my left and the downtown skyline and Space Needle on my right. I feel proud and I feel lucky and I feel loveful and I feel sweet, encompassing joy. This is my city. This is my home. And I get to be here, L-I-V-I-N’ and lovin’.
How lucky am I?
