So we left off in the train station, where I was waiting for UULL while I took pictures of myself trying to look chagrined and further endeared myself to the German people.

UULL found me and we enjoyed a delicious dinner of doner, a shaved, roasted meat in a delicious pita with tzatziki. Then we headed up to rent a car for our road trip (ROAD TRIP!!) to Austria. We had discovered it was way less expensive to rent a standard, so I took on the responsibility of driving. Which means I got to drive on the Autobahn. I was a bad. Ass.
Photobucket
Did I mention it was raining? Like, crazy raining? And we were on the Autobahn? Where people drive 400 kph?
Yeah. Again. BAD ASS.
The drive was dark, rainy, terrifying, but eventually we made it to our hotel in Mayrhofen. We checked in and then settled in to watch a movie and get some rest.
The next morning, UULL woke up early and took some beautiful pictures of our view:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
We got dressed, ate a delicious breakfast of fresh bread, butter, jam, and muesli, and then headed off to do a morning hike around Mayrhofen. Unfortunately, I forgot my inhalator in Munich and my assmar couldn’t handle the thin air of the Austrian Alps. Still, I was with UULL, who made the most of our “hike” and took these pictures:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
And then we found a group of rafters getting ready to launch their raft in the river. I got SO EXCITED because I looooove white water rafting. I kept shoving UULL and shouting in her ear, “DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH FUN THEY ARE ABOUT TO HAVE? THEY ARE ABOUT TO HAVE SO MUCH FUN! BECAUSE THEY ARE GOING WHITE WATER RAFTING! LOOK AT THEM GO! DO YOU THINK THEY KNOW HOW MUCH FUN THEY ARE ABOUT TO HAVE??”
We wandered through the village, trying to decide what to do with our day since the hike was off. We decided to do some famous drive, the name of which I of course CANNOT REMEMBER, but who cares because it meant I got to drive the tiny little standard again! And you guys. The drive? It was beautiful:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
We drove and drove and stopped for pictures and then drove some more.
And then we stopped for weinerschnitzel. Ooooh so tasty.
Photobucket
After our lunch, we continued up, up, up into the Alps. And then it got rainier. And darker. And foggier. And scarier. And the road got curvier. Check this shit out:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
We eventually had to admit defeat and turn around and drive back to Mayrhofen. I was terrified I was going to drive us off the mountain and into craggy rocks below.
When we got back to our little village, we relaxed and got dressed for dinner. Please to notice the decor in the restaurant:
Photobucket
I cannot remember what I had for dinner (I remember it was not delicious) but I definitely remember the apfel strudel I had for dessert:
Photobucket
Oooooh, y’all. So so so tasty.
After we’d eaten more strudel than anyone has any business eating, we lugged ourselves back to the hotel and discussed our plans for the next day. It was here where we decided to take a random and totally spontaneous day trip to…
A place I will tell you about next time.
This was my favorite part of the entire Europe trip, y’all. The time in the car with UULL was priceless to me. Roadtrips can make or break a friendship and UULL and I will be friends for our whole lives after the roadtrip we shared.
