Photobucket

I’ve edited this post because a family member on my father’s side has expressed feeling pain from reading my words. While everything I wrote was absolutely true and absolutely how I feel, I love this person and hope to maintain a relationship in the future. So out of respect for this person’s wishes, I’ve removed the original post.
There’s a lesson to be learned in blogging, one that I’m still trying to figure out. There must be a balance between sharing my words, speaking up for myself and maintaining thoughtful consideration for the people in my life. It’s a difficult lesson to learn.
What I posted was important to me, important for me to be able to express, and I don’t want to lose it. So I will say this, regarding the subject of my relationship with my father. It has been difficult, my whole life it has been difficult. And after 30 years of painful conversations, realizations, and attempts to mend the relationship, I’ve made the decision to move forward, on my own. I’m legally changing my name, separating myself from my father’s name and taking on my mother’s maiden name. I am becoming a Moore and taking a very significant step into a new future. That was the meat of the original post, the most important part of what I wrote. So it remains.
My relationship with my father has shaped me. But it no longer hurts me. I stand by my words in the original post but choose not to allow them to cause harm and detriment to someone else. Because allowing them to remain would be to say to this person, “My blog is more important to me than you are.” Which could not be further from the truth.
Thank you all for your support and your understanding.
