Photobucket

It was super sunny and beautiful here today.

Photobucket

My friend J and I took a drive up to Skagit Valley to tiptoe through the tulips. J is an amazing photographer. Clearly.

Photobucket

We drove with the sunroof open. We discussed important topics, including hair metal, flowcharts, and navigational techniques. (Am I the only one who turns the map upside down or on its side in order to navigate properly? How else do you navigate if you don’t go INTO the map? J says the fact that I have to make an L with my hand in order to tell left from right kind of steps on my navigational cred. Whatev.)

Photobucket

We laughed at people who couldn’t obey a simple sign. We watched as little girls in floral sundresses ran through the rows of flowers, laughing and shrieking.

Photobucket

Sometimes we were quiet. Mostly we just enjoyed the sun.

Photobucket

Today was what my grandmother would have called a “hug it to your bosom” day.

And so I did.

She’s been gone 6 years today. I’ve missed her for each one of those 2,190 days. But today, instead of focusing on my sadness, I hugged the day to my bosom and looked at pretty flowers in all the colors of the rainbow. I enjoyed my friend. I enjoyed the sun.

Photobucket

I enjoyed my life.

All pictures taken by J. Seriously talented.

