I made it home. After not a lot of sleep and a *very* rough day of airplanes and feeling queasy, I made it home. And while I knew I’d feel better when I got here, I didn’t realize how much I needed this.

I talked to Linds yesterday and the first thing she said was, “Wow. You sound like your old self again. I’m so so happy you are home because you sound like you and you haven’t sounded like you in a long time.” She’s right. I feel a lot better. I feel lighter. I feel more determined and I feel a lot less lonely. I’m home and I’ll be okay.

Here are things I’ve done since being home:
-Introduced my mother to Lady Gaga on the car ride from the airport. Their relationship has started out shaky but I’m hopeful a burned CD will help cement the love.

-Shot a potato 300 feet across the river with Papa Leo’s potato gun. It’s AWESOME.

-I saw a sign in the Arkansas airport that warned me not to take the escalator if I was barefoot. Seriously. Because evidently people don’t wear shoes often enough to warrant such a sign.

-I had Nutella on bread this morning for breakfast, with my tasty Seattle coffee (in the French Press we got for Mom while we were here at Christmas because my sister and I are obnoxious coffee snobs).

-I’ve watched some Glee with Mom because as we’ve learned, Glee is awesome.

I’ve also annoyed my mother with my weird TV-watching habit. When I see something on television I like a lot, something funny or something that I think is really great, I have a tendency to look at the person I’m watching tv with to see if he or she also thinks what we just saw is really great. This results in my glancing over at him or her a LOT. It drives Mom crazy and always has. When my sister was visiting Seattle and we were watching Glee, I kept doing it because there is a LOT to like about Glee. I felt bad so I apologized and Ceci was all, “Oh, I never noticed that.” Then I kept doing it and then she was all, “Wow, that IS annoying.”

So then I felt weird about having this annoying habit and I was trying so hard not to do it when I realized my sister has an annoying television habit too. When Ceci thinks something is funny, she’ll repeat the line under her breath. Example:

Glee: “Hi, I’m Kurt Hummel and I’ll be auditioning for the role of kicker.”
Ceci: Heh. “Audition for the role of kicker.”

Glee: “I’ll often yell at homeless people: ‘Hey, how is that homelessness working out for you? Try not being homeless for once.”
Ceci: Heh. “Try not being homeless.”

She totally does this. A lot. So I had to point it out.

Me: Omigod! You totally are a repeater!
Ceci: What? What’s that?
Me: When you like a line, you totally repeat it under your breath!
Ceci: I do not!
Me: You so do!
Ceci: Whatever, no I don’t. Glancer. You’re a glancer!

So we kept watching and I swear, not even 3 minutes later she did it again.

Glee: “They say it takes more certainty than talent to be a star. Just look at John Stamos.”
Ceci: Heh. John Stamos.

Me: YOU DID IT AGAIN!
Ceci: OH MY GOD. I AM A REPEATER! I REPEAT! I AM A REPEATER!!!
Me: BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

So for the rest of the time we were watching television, I would glance and then apologize. And she’d repeat and then apologize. And then we would laugh a lot and do it again.

My name is Alida and I’m a glancer. I will annoy you and I won’t mean to do it. I just want to see if you are having as much fun as I am. That’s all. And if I ever watch television with you, I’m sorry. But know I’m just glancing because I love you.

So yes, Ceci will get here on Tuesday and then we’ll watch more Glee and both annoy Mom with our repeating and glancing.

Home is a good place to be, you guys. I’m going to spend the week shaking out the cobwebs and focusing on good things. And I promise to try and find my funny again. I realize it’s gotten lost and I’m sorry about that. But it’s got to be out there somewhere, right?

I’ll write more later but right now, I have more Nutella calling my name.

